The More People Present, The Less I Can Speak

Picture this scene:

At a small gathering, there are about six people (including myself) present. Everyone is exchanging stories, laughing about old times. For me, this is fine. This is comfortable. I can join the conversation, no problem.

Fast forward a couple hours. More people have shown up. The numbers are now in the double digits, upwards of 10 ten people are there. This is… difficult. I can try to join the conv- nope, the subject changed, I didn’t chime up fast enough. I can join a small group maybe..? Except, there’s only one empty chair in a corner where no one else is.

Looks like that’ll be my spot.

My puppy joined me though. So that was nice.

 

Leave a Reply

